Quantcast

Restrict Comments On Instagram

Instagram has finally rolled out a ‘Restrict’ feature that allows its users to protect their accounts from unwanted interactions, such as bullying.

Instagram has finally rolled out a ‘restrict’ feature that allows its users to protect their accounts from unwanted interactions, such as bullying. 

This tool aspires to make Instagram a more user-friendly place to be, which places the power straight back in the palm of the user’s hands. Yep, right where your device should be!

Instagram stated that “Bullying is a complex issue, and we know that young people face a disproportionate amount of online bullying but are reluctant to report or block peers who bully them”. So, in an effort to help Instagram users remain empowered to “Quietly protect your account while still keeping an eye on a bully” the restrict feature is just one of the ways in which Instagram plans to combat the disadvantage that comes from online bullying and increase the overall wellbeing of Instagrammers all over the world.  

There is more than one way to restrict a user: Simply swipe left on the comment that the user you wish to restrict has posted, through the privacy tab in settings or directly from the account you wish to restrict. 

 

 

Once you swipe left on the user’s comment that you wish to restrict, you will see an exclamation mark icon inside of the Instagram speech bubble icon (the middle one). Tap that and choose to either report the comment or restrict the user from there. 

Restricting the user will protect you from unwanted interactions without that user ever knowing about it. You won’t even receive notifications from restricted users on your account. 

How’s the serenity?! 

Only that user will be able to see their new comments on your posts from now on and you too can see those comments but only if you choose to; by tapping ‘see comment’. Then, you can approve the comment so everyone can see it, or delete it, or ignore it completely. 

Feels good, doesn’t it? 

In addition to this, the restricted user will not be able to see when you’re online or when you have read their messages. So you have a whole new level of online privacy to enjoy and the bully commenter? Well, they will just hear crickets. Any messages they do send you, once they are on restricted, will go to your other folder, where you have the choice to see it or not, freeing your direct message inbox for speaking to the people that you do actually want to speak to. 

Instagram is committed to taking a powerful stand against online bullying and this is one giant step towards the future direction of where they will be taking the anti-bullying initiative. For years they have used AI technology to detect online bullying and harmful content and they say that “As our community grows, so does our investment in Technology”. 

The Social Media Manager's Guide

Learn how to manage multiple accounts without going crazy!

Well done Instagram! 

We love having a safe and supportive place to be our best selves and share our content with the world.

 

Latest Blogs

Content Creation

Social Media Strategy

5 Catchy Short-Form Video Ideas to Get More Sales

Skyrocket your sales with these 5 catchy video marketing ideas.

Content Planner

Grow Your Brand

Social Media Strategy

Your March 2024 Content Planner

Fast-track your content creation with done-for-you captions, post ideas and customizable templates so you’ll never be left scratching your head about what to post.

Content Creation

Inspiration

Trending TikTok and Reels Sounds To Use This Week

Check out the sounds that have been growing in popularity this week across Instagram Reels and TikTok!

Quotted
“So much information packed into a small amount of time”
As an artist, I always knew TikTok was an important platform for me to be on to connect with potential clients. I left this course feeling so confident and excited to create and grow!
Arden Interiors
Jenn Evans
Artist

Getting Started with TikTok

Up your TikTok Strategy with
Greta Rose
Greta Rose
close-link